6 "Phone home" turned out to be a buzzword meaning something different
| link

Why does New Horizons phone homepoint at Earth during its flyby

5 added 167 characters in body
source | link

Watching the New Horizons flyby, I notice that the probe stops probing and points back at Earth for about an hour at a time, right around the closest approach.

This happens on one occasion 6 hours before closest approach, lasting for 30 minutes, and again just 24 minutes after closest approach, lasting for about 2.5 hours.

What is the reason for this? Does it entail reduced scientific results?

It seems impossible that additional commands could make the round trip in time. And the data returned in suchjust a short spanhalf hour can't put much of a dent in its storage.

Watching the New Horizons flyby, I notice that the probe stops probing and points back at Earth for about an hour at a time, right around the closest approach.

What is the reason for this? Does it entail reduced scientific results?

It seems impossible that additional commands could make the round trip in time. And the data returned in such a short span can't put much of a dent in its storage.

Watching the New Horizons flyby, I notice that the probe stops probing and points back at Earth for about an hour at a time, right around the closest approach.

This happens on one occasion 6 hours before closest approach, lasting for 30 minutes, and again just 24 minutes after closest approach, lasting for about 2.5 hours.

What is the reason for this? Does it entail reduced scientific results?

It seems impossible that additional commands could make the round trip in time. And the data returned in just a half hour can't put much of a dent in its storage.

4 Rollback to Revision 1
source | link

Why does New Horizons phone home during its flyby?

Watching the New Horizons flyby, I notice that the probe stops probing and points back at Earth for halfabout an hour at a time, starting six hours beforeright around the closest approach.

This is apparently the "Phone Home" data downlink session. According to Emily Lakdawalla's post:

Wednesday, July 15 at 01:09 UT / Tuesday, July 14 at 21:09 ET / 18:09 PT: 0.3hr downlink: Phone home

  • No science data, just a brief burst of telemetry confirming that the spacecraft survived the flyby. The communications pass should begin July 15 00:53 UT / July 14 20:53 ET / 17:53 PT. According to the NASA media schedule, the mission team on Earth should receive the signal by 01:02 UT / 21:02 ET / 18:02 PT.

What is the rationalereason for this? Does it entail reduced scientific results?

It seems impossible that additional commands could make the round trip in time. And the data returned in such a short span can't put much of a dent in its storage.

Why does New Horizons phone home during its flyby?

Watching the New Horizons flyby, I notice that the probe stops probing and points back at Earth for half an hour, starting six hours before the closest approach.

This is apparently the "Phone Home" data downlink session. According to Emily Lakdawalla's post:

Wednesday, July 15 at 01:09 UT / Tuesday, July 14 at 21:09 ET / 18:09 PT: 0.3hr downlink: Phone home

  • No science data, just a brief burst of telemetry confirming that the spacecraft survived the flyby. The communications pass should begin July 15 00:53 UT / July 14 20:53 ET / 17:53 PT. According to the NASA media schedule, the mission team on Earth should receive the signal by 01:02 UT / 21:02 ET / 18:02 PT.

What is the rationale for this? Does it entail reduced scientific results?

Why does New Horizons phone home during its flyby

Watching the New Horizons flyby, I notice that the probe stops probing and points back at Earth for about an hour at a time, right around the closest approach.

What is the reason for this? Does it entail reduced scientific results?

It seems impossible that additional commands could make the round trip in time. And the data returned in such a short span can't put much of a dent in its storage.

    Question Protected by TildalWave
3 deleted 416 characters in body; edited title
source | link
    Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackSpaceExp/status/620952109610082304
2 added 615 characters in body
source | link
1
source | link