8
$\begingroup$

Were drilling samples taken by SD2 and analysed by Ptolemy, COSAC, and ÇIVA?

$\endgroup$
9
$\begingroup$

Yes No (see update). From ESA's 15 November 2014 update on the Rosetta mission:

Pioneering Philae completes main mission before hibernation

15 November 2014

Rosetta’s lander has completed its primary science mission after nearly 57 hours on Comet 67P/Churyumov–Gerasimenko.

After being out of communication visibility with the lander since 09:58 GMT / 10:58 CET on Friday, Rosetta regained contact with Philae at 22:19 GMT /23:19 CET last night. The signal was initially intermittent, but quickly stabilised and remained very good until 00:36 GMT / 01:36 CET this morning.

In that time, the lander returned all of its housekeeping data, as well as science data from the targeted instruments, including ROLIS, COSAC, Ptolemy, SD2 and CONSERT. This completed the measurements planned for the final block of experiments on the surface.

...

The article later mentions that the science teams are already studying this data to establish what type of cometary materials have been sampled with Philae's drill. Refer to Rosetta blog for more up to date information as it is made available.


Update: Teams behind these mentioned Philae instruments also have their own Twitter feeds. Here's some (adding latest info):

Rosetta's instruments also have their own Twitter feeds, such as Rosetta MIDAS or Consert Rosetta.

$\endgroup$
  • $\begingroup$ On Philae are there any sensors which could confirm that the drill was functional i.e. that the drill was rotating and applying sufficient force against the comet surface? (e.g. pulses from the motor, vibrations etc.) $\endgroup$ – pabouk Nov 18 '14 at 18:32
  • $\begingroup$ @pabouk Yes $\endgroup$ – TildalWave Nov 18 '14 at 18:37
  • $\begingroup$ It is not yet clear whether the drilling was working correctly or not: Because Philae was not anchored to the comet surface, it is also possible that, if the drill touched a particularly hard surface material, it moved the lander instead of drilling into the surface. Furthermore, the SD2 instrument lacks dedicated sensors to determine whether or not the surface has been reached, whether a sample was then collected in the sample tube, or if it was then discharged into the oven. --- See Did Philae drill the comet? $\endgroup$ – pabouk Nov 21 '14 at 13:37
2
$\begingroup$

Alas, no. Reported today:

COSAC PI: Drill tried to deliver sample. Ovens heated up. But data show no actual delivery. "There’s nothing in it."

$\endgroup$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.